The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

AOBN_Flashmob_CoverHow did I get the book? I bought it.

Genre: Contemporary / LGBT

Synopsis: Two boys. Two secrets.

David Piper has always been an outsider. His parents think he’s gay. The school bully thinks he’s a freak. Only his two best friends know the real truth – David wants to be a girl.

On the first day at his new school Leo Denton has one goal – to be invisible. Attracting the attention of the most beautiful girl in year eleven is definitely not part of that plan.

When Leo stands up for David in a fight, an unlikely friendship forms. But things are about to get messy. Because at Eden Park School secrets have a funny habit of not staying secret for long…

200words (or less) review: Absolutely wonderful! You really don’t need me to tell you much more than that but I will. 😉

Lisa Williamson’s debut was on my radar for a few months prior to its publication and I’m not exaggerating when I say my fingers were itching. I was so eager to get my hands on it. As soon as I had The Art of Being Normal I began reading and I didn’t stop. I even considered reading on the bus and I get travelsick – that’s how good this book is. (Also I was on holiday with family at the time and they couldn’t tear me away!)

The first chapter is perfect. I loved David from the very beginning. The writing is engaging, you’re so involved with the story that time just flies by and for me I just didn’t want to let David and Leo go. I also adored David’s friends and her parents.

The Art of Being Normal exceeded my expectations and I’m certain will remain one of the best books I read this year.

Recommend it?

Absolutely*

*4.5stars

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “The Art of Being Normal by Lisa Williamson

Leave a Reply

