The Last Leaves Falling by Fox Benwell

20743633How did I get the book? Received from author & publisher. I also plan to buy a few copies.
(Look out for giveaways)

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: And these are they. My final moments. They say a warrior must always be mindful of death, but I never imagined that it would find me like this…

Japanese teenager, Sora, is diagnosed with ALS (Lou Gehrig’s disease). Lonely and isolated, Sora turns to the ancient wisdom of the samurai for guidance and comfort. But he also finds hope in the present; through the internet he finds friends that see him, not just his illness. This is a story of friendship and acceptance, and testing strength in an uncertain future.

The I-love-this-book-so-much-there-aren’t-the-words-review:
Very occasionally I read a book that I so utterly and completely fall in love with that when it comes to writing my review all I have is a long list of words such as; beautiful, stunning, magnificent, breath-taking, amazing, fantastic, marvellous and perfect. This is one of those books.

The second thing I did after finishing The Last Leaves Falling (first being to hug various stuffed animals, get through half a box of tissues and comfort myself with some medicinal chocolate) was to message my friend to tell her about the emotional turmoil I was in.

Let me repeat: I utterly and completely love this book but it’s a powerful and heart-breaking read. Your heart does get put back together again because there is hope as much as there is everything else in Sarah Benwell debut but you won’t forget Sora’s story in a hurry and that’s a good thing.

I loved Sora. The future he faces doesn’t provide him with much to look forward to. Sora is honest about that, at the same time though he has this inner strength.

The relationship between Sora and his mother was one of my favourite things about this book. I adored Sora’s friends but it was the moments with his mother that really stuck with me. There are a few other key scenes but I don’t want take away from your reading experience… my heart hurts when I think about them. So so good.

I know this is a rather gushy review of The Last Leaves Falling and I don’t do them very often but this book is special. Read it.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

The Last Leaves Falling is out today!

Previously posted 3/11/14

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Last Leaves Falling by Fox Benwell

Leave a Reply

