Circus of the Unseen by Joanne Owen

22428320How did I get the book?
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Genre: Fantasy

Synopsis: After an accident at her grandmother’s house, Rosie is transported to a strange and sinister world populated by a cast of carnivalesque characters who reside in the Circus of the Unseen. They are reigned over by an old woman called Madam Matushka, who guards the threshold between life and death and has extraordinary powers over all around her.

This is an in-between world, a bizarre and trapped existence, but Rosie is not like the others here. She seems to be hovering between the worlds of the living and the dead, and she is a challenge to Madam Matushka. Can Rosie escape Madame Matushka’s malevolent rule and a world in limbo? And can she help resolve another mystery – one at the heart of her grandmother’s life?

200words (or less) review: Circus of the Unseen divided me, I absolutely loved the world Joanne Owen created but struggled with the narration style and ending. Let’s start with the big top in the in-between realm Rosie finds herself in though, because that was awesome.

Joanne Owen has split the book into 3 parts, each begins with the story with Vasilia and her magical doll. I loved this tale a lot. From there Rosie begins her narration, in part one we learn about her family but it’s part 2 when she find herself in the between world. As I’ve said I adored the big top, the performers and their environment.  It has the right balance between creepy and magical.

Maybe because I was so enthused by this world I needed more of it. Rosie’s narration didn’t engage me as I wanted and I was never particularly attached to her as a character. Also I have issues with the ending.

The world building in Circus of the Unseen will entice.

Recommend it?

Yes, for the world of Circus of the Unseen

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Circus of the Unseen by Joanne Owen

Leave a Reply

