Breaking the Rules (Pushing the Limits #1.5) by Katie McGarry

Breaking the rulesHow did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review

Previously reviewed:
Pushing The Limits
Crossing the Line
Dare You To
Crash into You

Synopsis: “I wish life could be like this forever,” I say.
“We’d be okay then.
We’d forever be okay.”

For Echo Emerson, a road trip with her boyfriend is the perfect way to spend the last summer between school and college. It’s a chance forget all the things that make her so different at home. But most of all, it means almost three months alone with gorgeous Noah Hutchins, the only boy who’s never judged her.

Echo and Noah share everything.

But as their pasts come crashing back into their lives, its harder to hide that they come from two very different worlds. And as the summer fades, Echo faces her toughest decision – struggle to face the future together or let her first love go…

200words (or less) review: I was absolutely blown away by Pushing The Limits and have enjoyed all the other Katie McGarry books I’ve read so I was very excited about Breaking the Rules. The book is set before Dare You To so if you’ve read the others in the series you know Echo and Noah stay together – that’s reassuring because this story is very much about how they struggle trying to do just that.

I liked that Echo and Noah’s relationship was challenged. As much as you want them to have that happy ending it wouldn’t have been believable but I will say that after a while, for me, it got repetitive. Breaking the Rules began to feel quite long. About halfway through the story and it was just one continued mess of a relationship.

Katie McGarry’s stories are gritty and it wouldn’t be one of her books if your emotions didn’t get shredded at some point. I think for me I would have liked a few more happier moments but I got the ending I wanted so that’s good.

Recommend it?

Yes

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

