My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #WinterReads

chrissi&lunacompare1

My True Love Gave to Me #WinterReads

22914373

On the first day of Christmas, my true love gave to me …This beautiful collection features twelve gorgeously romantic stories set during the festive period, by some of the most talented and exciting YA authors writing today. The stories are filled with the magic of first love and the magic of the holidays.

Stories:
Midnights by Rainbow Rowell
The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link
Angels in the Snow by Matt De La Pena
Polaris is Where You’ll Find Me by Jenny Han
It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins
You Temporary Santa by David Levithan
Krampuslauf by Holly Black
What the Hell Have You Done, Sophie Roth? by Gayle Forman
Beer Buckets and Baby Jesus by Myra McEntire
Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White
Star of Bethlehem by Ally Carter
The Girl Who Woke the Dreamer by Laini Taylor

winterbanner2

Thoughts before you started reading My True Love Gave To Me?
CHRISSI: It’s beautiful. Can I just stare it at for a while? Beautiful cover, just beautiful. I  was hoping it was just as beautiful inside!

LUNA: Those are some neon pink pages! 😀 Ok slightly more seriously I was thinking C’s = Cute, Cosy, Comfort reading.

What did you think of My True Love Gave To Me an anthology?
CHRISSI: I have to say, I was pleasantly surprised. I expected it to be a little cheesy. Some stories were. But mostly, I just got the warm fuzzy feeling when you read a very cute, festive, romantic story. Lovely! I think there was something for everyone within this anthology.

LUNA: My True Love Gave To Me surprised me. I originally thought it was going to be all contemporary Christmas stories but there were other genres in there as well. I was also really happy to see there variety of characters, backgrounds, believes, etc.

There will always be some stories that you prefer more than others but My True Love Gave To Me has a really good collection. I’d be surprised if there isn’t at least one you really love, with a good few more you enjoy a lot.

Favourite story/stories?
CHRISSI: I really liked ‘Angels in the Snow’ by Matt De La Pena. An author I hadn’t heard much about, but I absolutely devoured the story. I also thought ‘Midnights’ by Rainbow Rowell was cute.

LUNA: Angels in the Snow by Matt De La Pena was my favourite I think. Also loved: The Lady and the Fox by Kelly Link, It’s a Yuletide Miracle, Charlie Brown by Stephanie Perkins, Welcome to Christmas, CA by Kiersten White and the quirkiness of Krampuslauf by Holly Black.

Have you discovered any new authors because of My True Love Gave To Me?
CHRISSI: I’ve read quite a few of these authors, hence my interest in the anthology. I have to add Matt De La Pena to my list, although Luna has discovered he doesn’t have a UK publisher. Boo!

LUNA: I have actually read a fair few and do have books by quite a few others on top of that. Kelly Link’s ‘Pretty Monsters: Stories’ has moved quite a bit higher on my TBR pile and I’ve added Matt De La Pena to my Christmas wish list. He doesn’t seem to have a UK publisher though, which really sucks…

Any you didn’t enjoy?
CHRISSI: I didn’t really dislike any of the stories, but my least favourite was probably Jenny Han’s ‘Polaris Is Where You’ll Find Me.’

LUNA: There weren’t any that I disliked as such but I was expecting to be blown away by David Levithan’s ‘Your Temporary Santa’ (because you know it’s David Levithan!) and I was also really excited about Jenny Han’s story but neither really connected.

Would you recommend it?
CHRISSI: Of course! An anthology full of talented authors. What’s not to like?

LUNA: Absolutely, with a hot drink and a cuddly blanket.

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories #WinterReads

  1. I really want to read this book! Maybe thanks to your recommendation I will pick it up to read this weekend. I need something cozy and cuddly to get me in the holiday spirit. And the UK books are beautiful with their pink pages (I want that version haha).

Leave a Reply

