Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders

22593410How did I get the book?
StorytellerInc Book Club

Genre: Historical Fiction

Synopsis: Have you ever wondered what happened to the Five Children and It characters when the First World War began?

Cyril is off to fight, Anthea is at art college, Robert is a Cambridge scholar and Jane is at high school. The Lamb is the grown up age of 11, and he has a little sister, Edith, in tow. The sand fairy has become a creature of stories … until he suddenly reappears. The siblings are pleased to have something to take their minds off the war, but this time the Psammead is here for a reason, and his magic might have a more serious purpose.

Before this last adventure ends, all will be changed, and the two younger children will have seen the Great War from every possible viewpoint – factory-workers, soldiers and sailors, nurses and the people left at home, and the war’s impact will be felt right at the heart of their family.

200words (or less) review: I initially started Five Children on the Western Front immediately upon finishing E. Nesbit’s original. For me personally, I think this was a mistake. After a few chapters I put the book down and read other stories in-between but I’m not sure if that helped.

If I hadn’t read Five Children and It or maybe read it a long time ago so it wasn’t fresh in my mind I think I would have loved this book.

I liked Kate Saunders writing and found it easy to get lost in the story. There are some great scenes; I especially liked the first museum trip. Emotionally the last few chapters are tough and this book will certainly stay with you and that’s a good thing.

So why didn’t I love it? (I really did want to.) The Psammead in Five Children and It is a grumpy ancient sand fairy that grants the children wishes. Those wishes never quite work out but most have a lesson in there. The Psammead in this book is not like that. ‘Sammy’ didn’t endear himself to me and as he’s such a huge part of the story that influenced everything.

Recommend it?

Yes, I think in this case me and the Psammead just didn’t get on. 😦

You can read my review of Five Children and It by clicking the link HERE

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

