Five Children and It by E. Nesbit

22593417How did I get the book? I bought it.

Genre: Classic

Synopsis: When five siblings – Cyril, Anthea, Robert, Jane and their baby brother, the Lamb – discover a sand-fairy in their gravel pit, they are jolly surprised and a little delighted. Even better, the Psammead is able to grant them wishes, although the magic wears off at the day’s end. Unfortunately, all of the wishes the children make go hilariously wrong and they soon learn that their foolish desires are more likely to get them into trouble than get them what they want!

200words (or less) review: I was vaguely aware of Five Children and It but never read it as a child, growing up in Germany meant my childhood classic was Märchenmond. As Five Children on the Western Front was our bookclub this month I thought I’d better read this.

As the book was first published in 1902 there are some things within the story that if the book was written now I’d probably have issues with but times change, so I let it go. Ultimately this is an imaginative children’s story that you find yourself enjoying from the moment you meet the Psammead.

Grumpy at being disturbed the Psammead still grants the children a wish a day, this wish will end by sunset and of course the wish never quite turns out how they expect.

I absolutely adored E. Nesbit’s writing, the way she talks to the reader throughout. The story is fun and I completely understand why this book is a classic.

Five Children and It can be enjoyed by reading it alone, listen to someone reading it or being the one to read the book for others.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

My review of
Five Children on the Western Front by Kate Saunders
will be out tomorrow.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

