The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

22617406How did I get the book? I bought it.

Genre: Historical / Science Fiction

Previously reviewed:
A Love Like Blood
She Is Not Invisible
Midwinterblood
Flood and Fang

Synopsis: The spiral has existed as long as time has existed.

It’s there when a girl walks through the forest, the moist green air clinging to her skin. There centuries later in a pleasant greendale, hiding the treacherous waters of Golden Beck that take Anna, who they call a witch. There on the other side of the world as a mad poet watches the waves and knows the horrors the hide, and far into the future as Keir Bowman realises his destiny.

Each takes their next step in life. None will ever go back to the same place. And so, their journeys begin…

200words (or less) review: The first thing that I adored about The Ghosts of Heaven is that before you even start you have a decision to make; Will you read it in the current order it is or pick your own?

The book is split into 4 Quarters. They can be read in any order and the story will work. This caused a bookish-happy-dance in my case. I loved starting in the middle. I read Quarter 2, 4, 1 and finished with 3.

Each Quarter is an individual story but they all connect. My personal favourites were Quarter 2 (The Witch in the Water) which made my heart hurt and 3 (The Easiest Room in Hell). When I finished The Ghosts of Heaven I just sort of sat on my sofa stunned, thinking about the book.

By this point it probably goes without saying but I will say it anyway: Marcus Segwick’s writing is amazing. Each story completely takes you in. They are gems in their own right but then they also work together to make this book… I still can’t find the right words. Just wow.

The Ghosts of Heaven is without a doubt one of the best books I’ve read this year!

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Ghosts of Heaven by Marcus Sedgwick

  1. Pingback: Book of the Year 2014 | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

