The Girl Who Wasn’t There by Karen McCombie

chrissi&lunacompare1The Girl Who Wasn’t There by Karen McCombie

gwwt

Maisie doesn’t believe in ghosts…

But when she starts at her new school, there are rumours – of a long-gone girl who wanders the halls, Could this be the pale face, the whisper of white that Maisie’s spotted in the art-room window at night?

Together with her friend Kat, Maisie longs to learn more about the school ghost. Who was she? What happened to her? Then Kat comes across a photograph of something Maisie never expected to see…

Thoughts before you started reading The Girl Who Wasn’t There?
CHRISSI: I didn’t really know a lot about the book but I was excited to read it, given the synopsis and the lovely cover.

LUNA: I’d previously read Angels Next Door so I knew I’d enjoy this.

What did you think of Maisie?
CHRISSI: I thought Maisie was an adorable character. I easily warmed to her. I thought her friendship with Kat was incredibly endearing. Kat was a great addition to the story.

LUNA: I really liked Maisie, she’d a great narrator. You’re instantly on her side and want to continue reading just because of her.

Best bit?
CHRISSI: I really enjoyed the book as a whole. I thought it was engaging, fun and easy to read!

LUNA: For me the relationship between Maisie and her sister Clem was one of the best things about this book. It feels real, complicated and messy. They love each other but they don’t always like each other. Maisie’s sometimes the wise one, other times Clem really comes through but in the end they pull together.

Worst bit?:
CHRISSI: I found some parts a little predictable, but that’s only a slight criticism. It didn’t affect my enjoyment of the book at all.

LUNA: I thought it took quite a long time to find out what had happened to Maisie at her previous school.

Favourite character / moment?
CHRISSI: When Maisie’s worked out the truth about her friend’s story…

LUNA: Clem and Maisie’s dad’s dating was pretty entertaining. It’s nice to have a good father-figure in a book as I haven’t come across one in quite a while.

Was The Girl Who Wasn’t There what you expected?
CHRISSI: It was better than I expected. I really enjoyed it! A simple, but lovely story.

LUNA: It was, I picked it for Halloween because there is a ghost but I wasn’t expecting any frights. Karen McCombie gave me precisely what I wanted, a nice and sweet story.

Would you recommend it?:
CHRISSI: Of course!

LUNA: Yes

Previously reviewed by Luna: Angels Next Door


Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

