Day 21 (The Hundred #2) by Kass Morgan

isbn9781444766905-detailHow did I get the book? Received for review via bookbridgr, thank you Hodder

Genre: Dystopian

Previously reviewed: The 100

Synopsis: It’s been 21 days since The 100 landed on Earth. They’re the only humans to set foot on the planet in centuries… or so they thought. Facing an unknown enemy, Wells attempts to keep the group together. Clarke strikes out for Mount Weather, in search of other Colonists, while Bellamy is determined to rescue his sister, no matter the cost. And back on the ship, Glass faces an unthinkable choice between the love of her life and life itself.

200words (or less) review: I enjoyed the second book in the series more. With a clearer idea of what to expect the multiple POV’s, while still too many in my opinion, didn’t irritate me as much. Already knowing the characters helped, I think you’d struggle with Day 21 if you haven’t read The 100.

The story of what happens to those on earth was definitely more interesting for me. New characters are introduced, some mysteries are solved but mostly you get handed a trail of breadcrumbs to follow into the next part of the series. I wouldn’t mind that quite so much if so a large part of the book wasn’t spent on relationship drama. Between Wells, Clarke and Bellamy going back and forth and playing ‘I blame you now’ I was getting dizzy.

Day 21 has some intriguing moments and I do like the premise but there wasn’t as much development in the story as I hoped.

Recommend it?

Yes but I’m not sure if I’ll continue with the series.

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

