Something Real by Heather Demetrios

chrissi&lunacompare1

Something Real by Heather Demetrios

18005274

Seventeen-year-old Bonnie™ Baker has grown up on TV—she and her twelve siblings are the stars of one-time hit reality show Baker’s Dozen. Since the show’s cancellation, Bonnie™ has tried to live a normal life, under the radar and out of the spotlight. But it’s about to fall apart . . . because Baker’s Dozen is going back on the air. Bonnie™’s mom and the show’s producers won’t let her quit and soon the life that she has so carefully built for herself, with real friends (and maybe even a real boyfriend), is in danger of being destroyed by the show. Bonnie™ needs to do something drastic if her life is ever going to be her own—even if it means being more exposed than ever before.

Heather Demetrios’ Something Real is the winner of the Susan P. Bloom PEN New England Discovery Award.

Thoughts before you started reading Something Real?
CHRISSI: I’d heard good things but not massive raves, so I was somewhat intrigued!

LUNA: I picked up a signed copy in New York (I’m extra happy about this now, even if I completely killed my luggage allowance). I’d seen it around the blogosphere and a certain someone in Books of Wonder recommended it. *wink*

What did you think of Bonnie (aka Chloe)?
CHRISSI: I don’t think I’ve ever fell in love with a character so fast. I thought she was fantastic. I felt for her from the get go. I can’t imagine living my life in the public eye and I think Heather Demetrios portrayed the situation the characters were in so well.

LUNA: Chloe won me over early on, the amount of times I wanted to climb into the book and protect/hug her is rather alarming.

Best bit?
CHRISSI:  I want to say the whole frickin’ book because I loved it so much. I had such a book hangover after it. It made me emotional and it made me laugh. It was everything I could possible want from a book. I’ll stop gushing now…

LUNA: The way Heather Demetrios made me care about the characters. I read this book in one sitting because I just couldn’t but it down.

Worst bit?:
CHRISSI: I read it so quickly because I enjoyed it so much. I would’ve liked to have take my time over it!

LUNA: Just really couldn’t stand anything involving Chuck but I guess that’s pretty much the point. Bleugh…

Favourite character / moment?
CHRISSI: I absolutely adored the relationship between Bonnie and Benton. A truly beautiful sibling relationship. I also really bought the relationship between Bonnie and Patrick. Oh and this book has an LBGT element. Oh yes, it does!

LUNA: Pages 327-328. Was I cheering? Yep. (I’m not putting in any spoilers but for those of you that have read Something Real, that’s the t-shirt moment.)

Was Something Real what you expected?
CHRISSI: It was better than I expected. I devoured and declared my love for it!

LUNA: Like Chrissi, it was so much more. I mean I expected good but wow I wasn’t prepared for all the emotions.

Would you recommend it?:
CHRISSI: Without a doubt!

LUNA: Sunshine Star so HELL YES!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

