My Year of Epic Rock by Andrea Pyros

18509628How did I get the book?
Netgalley, thank you Sourcebooks

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: If Life Was Like a Song…
Nina Simmons’ song would be “You Can’t Always Eat What You Want.” (Peanut allergies, ugh). But that’s okay, because as her best friend Brianna always said, “We’re All in This Together.”

Until the first day of the seventh grade, when Brianna dumps her to be BFFs with the popular new girl. Left all alone, Nina is forced to socialize with “her own kind”–banished to the peanut-free table with the other allergy outcasts. As a joke, she tells her new pals they should form a rock band called EpiPens. (Get it?) Apparently, allergy sufferers don’t understand sarcasm, because the next thing Nina knows she’s the lead drummer.

Now Nina has to decide: adopt a picture-perfect pop personality to fit in with Bri and her new BFF or embrace her inner rocker and the spotlight. Well..

Call Me a Rock Star, Maybe.

200words (or less) review: My Year of Epic Rock was supposed to be my escape for a couple of hours fun-time read. Don’t get me wrong it completely fulfilled that part of the deal but I was surprised but how much I enjoyed this book.

After the summer holiday’s Nina’s best friend has replaced her with the allergy-free new(ish) girl. I had a ‘friend’ (term applied loosely) like that when I was growing up so I completely understood Nina. It really hurts, particularly because you never get an explanation.

What I liked about Andrea Pyros writing is that all the characters; Nina, her friends, Nina’s family come across so believable. The book is narrated by Nina but you still get everyone’s personality and there are some really good ones. I was particularly fond of Nina’s mother.

I liked growth in Nina’s character from the beginning of the book. It’s hard to admit your mistakes and learn from them.

My Year of Epic Rock is a good book about friendship, growing up and believing in yourself.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

My-Year-of-Epic-Rock-Blog-Badge

Come back on the 22 September 2014 for an
Interview with Andrea Pyros & Giveaway!

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “My Year of Epic Rock by Andrea Pyros

Leave a Reply

