Darkness Hidden (The Name of the Blade #2) by Zoë Marriott

Darkness_Hidden_revealHow did I get the book? Book-swapped with Debbie from SnugglingontheSofa
(I ♥ you so much for this!)

Genre: Urban Fantasy

Previously reviewed:
The Night Itself
Shadows on the Moon
Frostfire
The Swan Kingdom

Synopsis: In the electrifying second volume of Zoë Marriott’s The Name of the Blade Trilogy, Mio, Jack and Shinobu have defeated the terrifying Nekomata against all odds, and brought Jack’s sister home alive.

But Mio is still compelled to protect the katana, her family’s ancestral sword, and now the Underworld has spawned a worse monster – one carrying a devastating plague that sweeps through London like wildfire.

As Mio struggles to protect the city and control the sword’s deadly powers, she realises that this time there is no way she can keep everyone she loves alive… and she must make a terrible sacrifice to save the world.

A different kind of review: It’s another Zoë Marriott book and I’m going to be looking up all the different words to say amazing, breath-taking, stunning, beautiful, etc. Well – yes. Sorta. Maybe. Here’s the thing as much as I want to just go ahead and gush for the next 500+ words about how much I love this story I’m aware that this is what I do for all of Zoë Marriott books.

And let me just say that she completely deserves all that praise because she is an amazing writer but I thought this time I’d explain it a bit better.

So I’ve picked a tiny section from Hidden Darkness to show why I love Zoë Marriott’s writing so much:

“The ceiling was painted the same vivid blue-green as the outside. Some really talented artist had mixed the darker shade with subtle swirls of silver and pale greens and blues, until you feel like you’re looking up into a deep ocean. The walls were hidden behind fitted, crammed-full bookshelves of sand-coloured wood that climbed about seven feet, and the space between the tops of the shelves and the ceiling was filled with … fish tanks.”

Don’t you just want to be there? I remember reading that bit and thinking how magical that place sounded but also feeling like I was getting the panoramic tour with Mio as she took a look around.

I think that’s one of the key reasons I love Zoë’s books. I always feel like I’m there – I don’t just read about it. I experience it.

Once you add the amazing stories, the world-building and characters you couldn’t give me a better treasure. Which is why it might sound odd that Hidden Darkness was in my home for nearly 2 months before I finally had the guts to read it… because what if it wasn’t as good as the first book.

Fear not. Of course it was, actually maybe even a little better. 😉

I think I’m going to have to take a couple of days off to deal with reading the final book in The Name of the Blade Trilogy because my emotions still haven’t quite recovered reading Hidden Darkness and probably won’t for a while yet.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

 

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

