The Baking Life of Amelie Day by Vanessa Curtis

22955520How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed:
Zelah Green

Synopsis: My name is Amelie Day and I live to bake. Cupcakes, biscuits, bread, tarts and muffins – flour power! Now I’ve got a once-in-a-lifetime chance to win the Teen Baker of the Year award. But it looks like my stupid cystic fibrosis might get in the way. Will my mum let me go to London to compete?

200words (or less) review: This book arrived on my doorstep complete with bookmarks, recipe cards (which look yummy) and an adorable tea towel, thank you Curious Fox. Don’t worry you’re not missing out – all the recipes are in the book as well. 🙂

The Baking Life of Amelie Day is quite a short book, I managed to read in a few hours. However neither the story or characters feel incomplete. I was impressed by how alive Amelie was just a few pages into the book.

I really liked Amelie’s voice, she engages with the reader, is funny, determined and sincere. You know about Amelie’s cystic fibrosis from the book blurb but Amelie doesn’t go into details until a few chapters in. It’s part of the story but not the story, I thought Vanessa Curtis balanced this really well.

Charming, sweet and honest I recommend The Baking Life of Amelie Day, ideally with cupcakes and tea. (I couldn’t resist…)

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Baking Life of Amelie Day by Vanessa Curtis

Leave a Reply

