Fifteen Bones by R.J. Morgan

18774745How did I get the book?  Received from author in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Jake is not a bad person – he used to be the class joker, the comedian. He used to have ‘potential’. But now he’s been expelled from five schools and only Cattle Rise, a tough inner-city school, will take him. All he has to do is survive these first few weeks because otherwise he’s heading to the Detention Centre. But survival means keeping his head down, and that’s not something Jake’s very good at. What nobody knows is that Jake is drowning in grief – a grief that makes him angry and violent and unafraid. Then one night he hears screams in the night from the girl next door. Could it be that Robin’s trapped in a fate worse than his? Perhaps, in helping her, he can help himself. But, as he’s drawn into Robin’s world, Jake realizes that he’s about to discover what real danger is.

200words (or less) review: I don’t recall ever having used the word ‘gritty’ in any of my reviews before but for Fifteen Bones it is the perfect description.
R J Morgan’s debut is a gritty read.

Jake is the narrator of the story and I’ll be honest it did take me a couple of chapters to get into this book. I’m definitely a “tourist” in Jake’s world and that includes the language but it is because of this that Fifteen Bones is so convincing.

I struggled a bit with how to review this book because emotionally I never got past feeling like an observer in Jake’s life. Consequently, I wasn’t an attached to him I wanted to be (probably a good thing otherwise I’d have been a wreck by the end) but then on the other hand I pretty much read this book in one sitting because I couldn’t let it the story go.

So where does that leave me? Well I’m still thinking about it and it’s been weeks since I read it. For me that is a sign of a book worth reading.

Fifteen Bones deals with a lot of tough topics and personally I think it does so very well.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

When you’ve read Fifteen Bones
please let me know
because I so want to talk to someone about it!

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

