This Book is Gay by James Dawson

22074335How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Non-Fiction / LGBT

Previously reviewed:
Say Her Name
Cruel Summer
Hollow Pike
Being a Boy

Synopsis: Former PSHCE teacher and acclaimed YA author James Dawson gives an uncensored look at what it’s like to grow up as LGBT.
Including testimonials from people ‘across the spectrum’, this inclusive book explores everything anyone who ever dared to wonder wants to know – from sex to politics, how to pull, stereotypes, how to come-out and more. Spike Gerrell’s hilarious illustrations combined with funny and factual text make this a must-have read.

200words (or less) review: It’s no secret that I love James Dawson’s writing, each time I begin reading one of his books I end up not moving from my sofa until I’ve read the whole story but This Book is Gay isn’t a fiction book – it’s educational and inspirational (I rhyme to!). It’s for a book for everyone. In my perfect world this would be added to the teaching curriculum and maybe one day that’ll come true.

Honest, informative and funny. James Dawson talks to you about sex, religion, coming out and dating (& loads more). I do mean talks to you. Reading This Book is Gay is like having a conversation with someone who is supportive, full of information but without lecturing you. (I have this thing about lecturing…)

There were a lot of really brilliant things about this book. If I could I would totally have chapter 6 as a t-shirt. 🙂 Also the illustrations are wonderful.

I hope everyone that wants/needs/should can read This Book is Gay. #readwithPride

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

 

This book is GAY is out today!!!
Go buy it now!

Follow on Bloglovin

4 thoughts on “This Book is Gay by James Dawson

  1. Pingback: Banned Books #5 – Annie On My Mind by Nancy Garden with Chrissi Reads and Luna’s Little Library | bibliobeth

  2. Pingback: Banned Books #5 Annie On My Mind | Chrissi Reads

Leave a Reply

