55 Bookish Questions

I saw this on Chrissi‘s blog last week and thought it would be fun.
The questions originated from The Literary Lollipop.

1. Favourite childhood book:
The Märchenmond Series by Wolfgang & Heike Hohlbeing. I haven’t read the English translation (Magic Moon) but it’s very tempting.

186637222. What are you reading right now?
At the time of writing this post – Lobsters by Tom Ellen & Lucy Wilson and True Love Always by Siobhan Curham

3. What books do you have on request at the library?
No, I normally select something that they have on the shelf.

4. Bad book habit:
Snacking while reading.

5. What do you currently have checked out at the library?
Nothing.

6. Do you have an e-reader?
A kindle, I always defend myself by saying I didn’t buy it. It was given to me. (Technically it was thrown at me 😛 )

7. Do you prefer to read one book at a time, or several at once?
I normally have one main book, sometimes though I end up with additional reads.

8. Have your reading habits changed since starting a blog?
Yes, I read even more.

9.Least favourite book you read this year:
Hmm probably The Awakening of Miss Prim by Natalia Sanmartin Fenollera

10. Favourite book I’ve read this year:
You can’t have me pick just one. So far there have been 3 books that I loved beyond all others, 2 of which aren’t even out until 1015 so I know I’m very lucky to have read them already. They are (in no particular order)

11. How often do you read out of your comfort zone?
My comfort zone is pretty much anything within MG/YA so hmm not that often. I’ve started reading a few adult titles in the last couple of months.

12. What is your reading comfort zone?
See above.

13. Can you read on the bus?
No, not on the train either. Even planes are a bit iffy. 😦
(Weirdly boats are fine)

14. Favourite place to read?
My sofa.

15. What’s your policy on book lending?
Having had a couple of bad experiences I’m a lot more hesitant now. I tend to lend to people I know I can trust, that said I lent a book out last year to someone in that catogory and I still haven’t got it back… *sighs*

16. Do you dogear your books?
I wouldn’t dream of it.

17. Do you write notes in the margins of your books?
I repeat: I wouldn’t dream of it.

18. Do you break/crack the spine of your books?
*gasp* Not if I can avoid it.

19. What is your favourite language to read?
English.
I really should read more of my German books but because I review in English I never seem to.

20. What makes you love a book?
When I forgot the world around me. Sometimes that’ll be because of the writing or the character, sometimes it’ll be something to do with the world the author has created.

21. What will inspire you to recommend a book?
Either because I like the book or because I think it’s a book that needs to be read. (Mostly they go hand in hand)

22. Favourite genre:
I read a lot of contemporary by default but I think Fairy Tale Retellings

23. Genre you rarely read (but wish you did?):
I’d like to be more into reading Classics but quite often I find them boring.

24. Favourite Biography:
The last autobiography I read was My Story by Pasha Kovalev but I don’t read them often.

25. Have you ever read a self-help book? (And, was it actually helpful?)
Can’t remember, I do really want to read Reasons to Stay Alive by Matt Haig when it comes out in March 2015.

26. Favourite Cookbook:
Mostly I invent but Food of Japan comes in handy.

27. Most inspirational book you’ve read this year: (fiction or non-fiction):

28. Favourite reading snack:

29. Name a case in which hype ruined your reading experience:
Mila 2.0 by Debra Driza – I was so excited and ahm… well. Nuff said.

30. How often do you agree with the critics about about a book?
Never bothered checking.

31. How do you feel about giving bad/negative reviews?
I’m honest about why the book wasn’t for me. As long as I do that I’m fine.

32. If you could read in a foreign language, which language would you choose?
Japanese!

33. Most intimidating book I’ve read:
This is All: The Pillow Book of Cordelia Kenn by Aidan Chambers (just for because of the size of it)

34. Most intimidating book I’m too nervous to begin:
The Book Thief – what if I don’t like it?

35. Favourite Poet:
I’ve only read a few, not enough to really pick a favourite.

36. How many books do you usually have checked out from the library at any given time?
None presently but I normally walk out with at least 3.

37. How often do you return books to the library unread?
Hmm occasionally.

38. Favourite fictional character:
Depends entirely on my mood.

39. Favourite fictional villain:
Currently Izanami from The Name of the Blade Series because she’s got a reason to be pissed. I like villains who make sense.

40. Books I’m most likely to bring on vacation:
Too many. I never know what I’ll be in the mood for.

41. The longest I’ve gone without reading:
I had a phase where I mainly read Manga’s instead of books – now it’s the other way round. Manga’s are SO expensive. I miss them though. 😦

42. Name a book you could/would not finish:
Could not: The Country of Ice Cream Star by Sandra Newman
Would not: Beautiful Disaster by Jaime McGuire

43. What distracts you easily when you’re reading?
Hardly anything, I actually normally have the TV or music on. Reading in total silence is alien to me.

44. Favourite film adaptation of a novel:
Howl’s Moving Castle (I love both the book and film)

45. Most disappointing film adaptation:
I remember being disappointing by The Prisoner of Azkaban but I think my mistake was re-reading the book the week before I went to see the film.

46. Most money I’ve ever spent in a bookstore at one time:
I spend about $160 at Books of Wonder while I was in New York this year, but that’s a holiday so it doesn’t really count. Right?

47. How often do you skim a book before reading it?:
I will sample read the first couple of pages.

48. What would cause you to stop reading a book halfway through?:
I’m pretty stubborn but the books that have made me give up in the past generally have main characters that wind me up. The he-is-so-beautiful-therefore-it-doesn’t-matter-how-he-treats-me-relationships tend to kill books pretty quickly.

49. Do you like to keep your books organised?:
I have books split between UKYA and international with a #WeNeedDiverseBooks Bookcase in the middle. It’s mostly still in order.

50. Do you prefer to keep books or give them away once they’ve been read?:
I hoard… it’s bad. Though ever so often I have a clear-out and I love bookswapping with other bloggers.

51. Are there any books that you’ve been avoiding?:
See this post HERE

52. Name a book that made you angry:
Beautiful Disaster by Jaime McGuire

53. A book I didn’t expect to like but did:
Unhooking the Moon by Gregory Hughes

54. A book I expected to like but didn’t:
Alice in Zombieland by Gena Showalter

55. Favourite guilt-free guilty pleasure reading:
I love reading MG books at the moment 🙂

 

That’s all folks!

Follow on Bloglovin

6 thoughts on “55 Bookish Questions

  1. This is really cool! I like finding out people’s bookish habits.. It’s interesting to see the similarities and differences. For example, I physically can’t eat and read at the same time, so snacking isn’t a problem for me there. My brain can’t coordinate it to happen!

    Cool post! I might steal it! (and give the appropriate credits of course!)

    ^.^

  2. I would love to be able to read in Japanese. After three days (so far) of my Intro to Japanese class though… I doubt I’ll ever get there! haha. This was a fun list, I may have to do it myself 🙂 Thanks for sharing your answers.

    Jillyn @ Bitches n Prose

  3. Pingback: 55 Bookish Questions | Darcy's Book Blog

  4. Pingback: Some bookish Questions | A Bit Behind on Books

  5. It is so interesting to compare reading habits with other readers – for example, chocolate would be a forbidden snack near my books!
    I gave this questionnaire a try last week. Here are my answers, in case you are interested.

Leave a Reply

