Where The Mountain Meets The Moon by Grace Lin

7960908How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Fantasy / Fairy Tales

Synopsis: In the valley of Fruitless mountain, a young girl named Minli lives in a ramshackle hut with her parents. In the evenings, her father regales her with old folktales of the Jade Dragon and the Old Man on the Moon, who knows the answers to all of life’s questions. Inspired by these stories, Minli sets off on an extraordinary journey to find the Old Man on the Moon to ask him how she can change her family’s fortune. She encounters an assorted cast of characters and magical creatures along the way, including a dragon who accompanies her on her quest for the ultimate answer.

Grace Lin, author of the beloved Year of the Dog and Year of the Rat, returns with a wondrous story of adventure, faith, and friendship. A fantasy crossed with Chinese folklore, Where the Mountain Meets the Moon is a timeless story reminiscent of The Wizard of Oz. Her beautiful illustrations, printed in full-color, accompany the text throughout. Once again, she has created a charming, engaging book for young readers.

200words (or less) review: I absolutely adored this book. I’m so mad at myself that I had this sitting on my shelf for nearly two years before I finally got round to reading it – what the hell was wrong with me?!

Grace Lin gave me everything I could want: beautiful writing, lovable characters, captivating storytelling, exquisite world building and those warm fuzzy feelings special books give you. (You know the ones you end up hugging. Don’t pretend it’s only me that does that…)

While I’m convinced that Where The Mountain Meets The Moon would be just as thrilling as a text only book I do think that the art, both the chapter heading and the full colour pictures add something extra special.

I loved the folktales within Minli’s own story, there were a few I had heard before, Grace Lin makes them work together so well. I also loved the message I took from the book and all the other things I’ve previously mentioned.

In short I loved Where The Mountain Meets The Moon.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

