The Case of the Exploding Loo by Rachel Hamilton

20524926How did I get the book?  Received from author (no obligation for review)

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Quirky twelve year old Noelle (Know-All) Hawkins may be one of the brightest girls in her class but even she can’t explain how her dad, wacky scientist Big Brain Brian, spontaneously combusted while sitting in a portaloo. It’s true that he was working on a new top secret Brain Ray machine and was on the point of a great break-through when he vanished – could this have had something to do with his disappearance?

Know-All is sure all is not as it seems and with the help of her sister Holly she is determined to find out what really happened to her dad!

Additional: I met Rachel Hamilton during YALC (she’s awesome btw) and because The Case of the Exploding Loo was the read for the junior bookclub at StorytellersInc I did know a little about it. Long story short, when Rachel offered me a copy I said yes. I didn’t plan on reading it this soon but after ‘testing’ the first page I had to finish it.

200words (or less) review: Know-All (real name Noelle) is our narrator; she’s very smart when it comes to science, maths, etc but maybe not quite so much when it comes the world outside of school and books. After her father’s disappearance following the portaloo explosion Noelle decides to solve the mystery herself because the police aren’t getting anywhere.

The two things that I loved most about this book were the humour. I know from overhearing conversations in bookshops that kids love it and I had so much fun reading (doubt I’m the only so-called “grown-up” that will say this) so I think it’s universal.

My other favourite? Noelle’s older sister Holly. She is definitely the best older sister I’ve come across in a book in ages. While she might not be school smart the way Noelle is, Holly is very intelligent and wise and a little scary with electric tools. She’s also a lot more observant about their dad.

The Case of the Exploding Loo is explosive with fun and adventure. Enjoy! 😛
(Oh come on, I had to…)

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Case of the Exploding Loo by Rachel Hamilton

  1. I’m not sure if I’ll buy a copy but if I ever I see this lying around someone else’s library, I’d definitely pick it up out of curiosity from the title alone. Come on, explosion and loo are two words you don’t normally use together in a sentence. 🙂

Leave a Reply

