Memoirs of a Neurotic Zombie: The One with the Zealous Zombees by Jeff Norton

RGB ZombiecoverFRONTHow did I get the book?  Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Paranormal

Synopsis: ‘My name is Adam Meltzer and the last thing I remember was being stung by a bee while swinging at a robot-shaped pinata on my twelfth birthday. I was dead before the candy hit the ground.’

Memoirs of a Neurotic Zombie is narrated by the hilarious Adam Meltzer – pre-teen, worrywart, and now zombie. Adam’s family gets the fright of their lives when he turns up at their door . . . three months after his funeral.

Soon Adam’s back at school trying to fit in and not draw extra attention to himself, but when he sees his neighbour Ernesto transform into a chupacubra, and the beautiful Corina (Adam’s number one mega-crush) turns out to be a (vegan) vampire, undead life is never going to be the same again.

A hilarious adventure caper – if Ferris Bueller met Shaun of the Dead – all about friendship and being yourself . . . even if you’re undead.

200words (or less) review: I am not the intended audience for this book and when I first heard about it I wasn’t exactly on the edge of my seat (sorry!) BUT then I got to listen to Jeff Norton read the prologue and I was sold.

Adam is neurotic and more than a little perturbed at having to climb out of this coffin through all that dirt to get back home. Where he learns that not only has the hall carpet been replaced but his sister also took over his room so she could adjust better after his death. Not the best start to his zombie existence.

Memoirs of a Neurotic Zombie is a laugh out loud funny book. I don’t mean a little chuckle but my stomach hurts laugh out loud (I’ve warned you, so where you read it is up to you). Adam’s adjustment to his new ‘other’ existence is made easier by Corina the vegan vampire and Ernesto, a chupacubra.

I think this book works to well because the humour isn’t age specific. There is something there for everyone, from the adults SMOOCH obsession to Zombie digestive problems. I dare you to read this and not laugh. It’s impossible.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Expected publication:
August 7th 2014 by Faber & Faber

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Memoirs of a Neurotic Zombie: The One with the Zealous Zombees by Jeff Norton

Leave a Reply

