Glimpse by Kendra Leighton

18042063How did I get the book?
Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Paranormal

Synopsis: Liz just wants to be normal. Her life is anything but.

Seven years ago Liz lost her mother and ten years’ worth of memories. When she inherits the infamous Highwayman Inn, she hopes the move will be a fresh start. Then she meets Zachary. Zachary who haunts her by night and in dreams; who makes her question everything she is and wants to be; who seems scarcely real – yet makes her feel so alive.

Inspired by Alfred Noyes’ classic poem ‘The Highwayman’, Glimpse is a ghost story, a love story, and a story of a girl fighting for her future by confronting her terrible past.

200words (or less) review: I first heard about Glimpse last year and I’ve been eagerly waiting to get my hands on it ever since and when I finally could read it,
I didn’t want to put it down.

The book is narrated by Liz and begins with the last day at her old school. Because she sees “glimpses” (floating hands, heads, etc) and reacts to them (like you would) Liz has been bullied for years. She can’t wait to start anew when her father and her move to the Highwayman Inn – this time she will be normal.

I liked Liz a lot. Despite the first impression of a scared girl she is actually strong, though I will admit that at times it took her a little longer to work some things out then I would have liked.

Even with my initial reluctance to the romance to the Highwayman, Kendra Leighton convinced me. By the end of the book I was hoping for impossible things just as my as Liz.

Glimpse lived up to my expectations, it’s a debut Kendra Leighton should be proud of and I can’t wait to see what this author does next.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Expected publication: June 19th 2014 by Much-in-Little

image001
Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Glimpse by Kendra Leighton

  1. Pingback: * It's Publication Day! * - Kendra Leighton | Kendra Leighton

Leave a Reply

