Night School by C.J. Daugherty

12576579How did I get the book?
I bought it.

Additional: Read as part of #NightSchoolReadingFest

Genre: Mystery

Synopsis: Allie Sheridan’s world is falling apart. Her brother’s run away from home. Her parents ignore her. And she’s just been arrested.
Again.
This time her parents have had enough. They cut her off from her friends and send her away to boarding school, far from her London friends.
But at Cimmeria Academy, Allie is soon caught up in the strange activities of a secret group of elite students.
When she’s attacked late one night the incident sets off a chain of increasingly violent events. As the school begins to seem like a very dangerous place, she finds out that nothing at Cimmeria is what it seems to be.
And that she is not who she thought she was.

200words (or less) review: Having now read Night School I feel rather guilty admitting that the reason I ended up with a copy if because I found it in the bargain bin. Knowing what I do, I feel I should go back and buy a full priced book because it’s worth that.

Night School has not got any paranormal links. Both the cover and blurb don’t really help in convincing you of this fact and until I read Night School a small part of me was convinced some otherworldly element would appear at some point. It doesn’t, although Cimmeria Academy has spooky going ones.

Allie the girl I wish I could have been but was never brave enough to. She’s deposited at Cimmeria Academy because her parents are at the wits end. With technology banned Allie finds herself surrounded by the upper class students who don’t underhand why an unknown with no connections is there. Despite this Allie makes friends and begins to settle.

As Night School is the first in the series, as such there are loose ends but they aren’t as jarring as some other first books I’ve read.
I was happy had had book waiting…

Recommend it?

Yes*

*3.5Stars

Please come back for the before/after post of #NightSchoolReadingFest on the 17 May 2014

Follow on Bloglovin

2 thoughts on “Night School by C.J. Daugherty

Leave a Reply

