Blackfin Sky by Kat Ellis

18952405How did I get the book? Received for review.

Genre: Thriller

Synopsis: When Sky falls from Blackfin Pier and drowns on her sixteenth birthday, the whole town goes into mourning – until she shows up three months later like nothing happened.
Unravelling the mystery of those missing months takes Sky to the burned-out circus in the woods, where whispers of murder and kidnapping begin to reveal the town’s secrets. But Sky’s not the only one digging up the past – the old mime from the circus knows what happened to her, and he has more than one reason for keeping quiet about it.

200words (or less) review:
“A wonderful, compulsive read.”
is what Yangze Choo says on the cover of Blackfin Sky and I couldn’t agree more. I don’t normally quote other people but this time I am, because I couldn’t put it any better and Yangze Choo is an amazing writer.

Here’s the thing, a lot of what I love about Kat Ellis’s debut I can’t put in this review because I want people to discover that for themselves. The book is addictive from the moment you begin reading.

Blackfin is a place I partly wish I could visit but also never want to set foot in. Blood House however (Sky’s home), has got to be the best house ever. Please can I move in?

The mystery of what happened to Sky is best left for readers to unravel I can talk about the writing. I use ‘good’ quite often but Kat Ellis deserves the word: excellent. There is an otherworldly feel because of Blackfin and the strangeness of the place but Sky and her friends are normal teens. The dialogue has to work with the atmosphere and it does, so well.

Blackfin Sky has got to be one of my favourite debuts of the year.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Come back on the 10 May 2014 for an Interview with Kat Ellis

Follow on Bloglovin

Leave a Reply

