Echo Boy by Matt Haig

chrissi&lunacompare1Thank you to Random House/Bodley Head Children’s Books for providing review copies for Chrissi & me.

Echo Boy by Matt Haig

17997707

Audrey’s father taught her that to stay human in the modern world, she had to build a moat around herself; a moat of books and music, philosophy and dreams. A moat that makes Audrey different from the echoes: sophisticated, emotionless machines, built to resemble humans and to work for human masters. Daniel is an echo – but he’s not like the others. He feels a connection with Audrey; a feeling Daniel knows he was never designed to have, and cannot explain. And when Audrey is placed in terrible danger, he’s determined to save her. The Echo Boy is a powerful story about love, loss and what makes us truly human.

Thoughts before you started reading Echo Boy?
CHRISSI: My first Matt Haig book… excited!!! I also thought it sounded really interesting.

LUNA: Matt Haig, Matt Haig, Matt Haig! Essentially I just danced around my living room with happiness; I’ve read a couple of Matt Haig’s book and know how awesome his writing is.

What did you think of Audrey and Daniel?
CHRISSI: Echo Boy is full of some well-developed characters who I found incredibly intriguing. It’s particularly interesting to read from Audrey and Daniel’s point of view. I really liked both characters. It took me a bit longer to warm to Audrey, but I did think she was an incredibly intelligent, thoughtful narrator. I loved Daniel straight away.

LUNA: I loved them both, particularly Daniel who stole my heart from the moment he appeared. I kept forgetting that the story only takes place over a short space of time but the connection between the Audrey and Daniel is so convincing.

Best bit?
CHRISSI: I have to say the best bit about Echo Boy, aside from the fast-paced, interesting story, is simply Matt Haig’s writing. I found it incredibly engaging and at many points, I re-read sentences because I thought they were beautiful and I could relate them. It’s a story full of love, loss, hope and what it is to be human.

LUNA: Apart from the writing (which of course if wonderful) it’s the emotions that Echo Boy bring forth that really stuck with me. I was surprisingly attached to Audrey and Daniel, particularly the conundrum that Daniel’s existence his. Technically not ‘alive’ but yet he is. Also I rarely despise characters, even when they’re supposed to be evil yet Matt Haig succeeded in making me do just that.

Worst bit?:
CHRISSI: It’s hard to pinpoint a worst bit, as I didn’t really think there was a worst bit! I guess if I’m being picky, then I would say it took me a couple of chapters to really feel engaged in the story. Not a major thing at all. It seems pointless mentioning it, but I have to answer the question! Don’t let that answer put you off. As soon as I got into the story, I was happily stuck turning the pages, devouring each page and loving the story!

LUNA: There wasn’t actually anything I didn’t like about the book, as in thinking its bad – but when Daniel learns hate. That particular part of the story broke my heart. 😦

Favourite character / moment?
CHRISSI: I loved the interactions between Audrey and Daniel. (Can I mention the beautiful writing again please?)

LUNA: It’s a Daniel/Audrey moment towards the end of the book but I can’t explain more without giving away spoilers. Also the fact that this book just constantly makes you think about things.

Was Echo Boy what you expected?
CHRISSI: I was expecting amazing things. I had heard so many wonderful things about Matt Haig’s writing. I fell in love with his writing and very much enjoyed reading Echo Boy.

LUNA:  Yes, though I didn’t anticipate quite the emotional attachment to Daniel and Audrey as I ended up with.

Would you recommend it?
CHRISSI: Of course!

LUNA: Absolutely

 

Previously reviewed by Luna: The Radleys

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Echo Boy by Matt Haig

  1. What a brilliantly refreshing way of reviewing a book. I

    I’ve been wavering between reading this book or not and the more and more reviews I read the more it goes up the tbr pile.

Leave a Reply

