I Heart Beat by Edyth Bulbring

18682758How did I get the book?  From the publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Beatrice has got a deadbeat mum, an addiction to online messaging and an aversion to the sun. If she could stay inside all summer she most absolutely would. Except she’s being shipped off to stay with her ‘Grummer’ – a grandmother she barely knows – while her mum has another go at rehab. If Beatrice is going to have any chance of having some peace she will need to distract Grummer with a husband. Unfortunately there aren’t many eligible bachelors hanging around this cranky old dorp.

Her plan is simple: identify the target, establish contact and ensure eternal love. But all does not go to plan for control-freak Beat. Suddenly she finds herself ditching the factor 50 for freckles from swimming in the reservoir; her cucumber and tea-only diet is overtaken by peanut butter sandwiches, and the very important ‘rely on no-one’ policy has to make room for Toffie; a boy with a bike, a shock of red hair and a love for the natural fauna of South Africa.

Beat always knew that love was found in unexpected places. She just never thought that it might find her.

200words (or less) review: I know I’ll be reading more of Edyth Bulbring going forward. I Heart Beat convinced me almost straight away.

I wouldn’t call Bea instantly lovable as a character, in fact occasionally she’s very unlikeable but Bea is a brilliant narrator, realistic and complicated. Yes Bea did annoy me but never so much I wanted to put the book down, in fact I read I Heart Beat pretty much in one sitting.

Despite Bea’s one-sided view you get a good feel for the other characters in the book, particularly Grummer and Toffie. Even with Beatrice ignoring the obvious, you as the reader, have big insight into her struggles. The problems she has now but also what made her the way she is.

I Heart Beat is one of the few books where I wish/need there to be sequel. There is so much more of Beatrice I want to discover.

Recommend it?

Yes*

*3.5Stars

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “I Heart Beat by Edyth Bulbring

Leave a Reply

