Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

15726915How did I get the book? Edelweiss, thank you HarperTeen

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Alexi Littrell hasn’t told anyone what happened to her over the summer. Ashamed and embarrassed, she hides in her closet and compulsively scratches the back of her neck, trying to make the outside hurt more than the inside does.

When Bodee Lennox, the quiet and awkward boy next door, comes to live with the Littrells, Alexi discovers an unlikely friend in “the Kool-Aid Kid,” who has secrets of his own. As they lean on each other for support, Alexi gives him the strength to deal with his past, and Bodee helps her find the courage to finally face the truth.

A searing, poignant book, Faking Normal is the extraordinary debut novel from an exciting new author-Courtney C. Stevens.

200words (or less) review: Courtney C. Stevens certainly delivers a strong and emotional debut. Faking Normal follows Alexi as she tries to forgot what happened to her over the summer.

What I liked most about this book was the relationship/friendship between Bodee and Alexi. Both characters find each other because they know the meaning of an before and after existence. Bodee is wonderful, I can be quite fickle with my feelings about characters but Bodee won me from the start.

Faking Normal deals with tough subjects, I thought Courtney C. Stevens really excelled with the character development for Alexi. The guilt, fear, shame and understanding the impact these leave. There is this one quote at the beginning of the book that really stuck with me:

Now I understand all the girls in my school who cut. I used to think of them as idiots who didn’t know how to cope. Now, I realize they are coping.

I’m glad I got to review this book, it will certainly be a book that stays with me. Faking It is a touching story about overcoming being “broken”. Read it.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

2 thoughts on “Faking Normal by Courtney C. Stevens

  1. This sounds a bit like ‘Speak’ by Laurie Halse Anderson! I don’t usually like YA fiction but I thought ‘Speak’ addressed important themes in a brilliant way. I am definitely going to look this up 🙂

Leave a Reply

