The Rainbow Man by P.B. Kane

18803349How did I get the book? From the publisher in an exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Mystery / Mythology

Synopsis: When Daniel Routh, together with friends Jill and Greg, and little brother Mikey, discover a body washed up on the beach after a storm, it’s one of the most exciting things ever to happen on the island of Shorepoint. And, as the man in question slowly recovers, he befriends the inhabitants of this small fishing community one by one. Only Daniel suspects something might be wrong with the newcomer, who cannot remember who he is, nor how he came to be there.

To start with, this John Dee (as they label him, short for Doe) brings prosperity and happiness with him, but it isn’t long before the tide begins to turn. Then John begins to worm his way into Daniel’s own family, trying to take the place of his late father, and the teenager knows something must be done. Little does Daniel realise that he’s now involved in one of the most ancient conflicts of all time; one that might decide the fate not only of Shorepoint, but of the entire world.

200words (or less) review: The mystery of The Rainbow Man is intriguing. I liked the slow build, the effects “John” had on the community of Shorepoint at large as well as the shift in Daniel’s family.

For me the narration felt detached. I have no issue with third person normally but in this case it it stopped me having a connection to the characters. The story was told to me, I didn’t experience it.

My main issue is that I’m not convinced this is a YA book. It doesn’t read as such, partly due to the narration but also the writing style. I couldn’t connect with it. Not sure about the artwork either, it makes an appearance towards the end but didn’t add anything to the story.

The Rainbow Man wasn’t the story I expected, parts I truly enjoyed but the lack of emotional connection to the characters was a big issue for me.

Recommend it?

Not sure

Leave a Reply

