My Very UnFairy Tale Life Books 1 – 3 by Anna Staniszewski

How I got the books? I bought My Very UnFairy Tale Life & My Epic Fairy Tale Fail and received My Sort of Fairy Tale Ending via Netgalley, thank you Sourcebooks Jabberwocky

8590353

My Very UnFairy Tale Life #1

You know all those stories that claim fairies cry sparkle tears and elves travel by rainbow? They’re lies. All lies.

I’ve spent my life as an official adventurer. I travel across enchanted kingdoms saving magical creatures and fighting horrible beasts that most of you think are only myths and legends. I’ve never had a social life. My friends have all forgotten me. And let’s not even talk about trying to do my homework. So – I’m done!! I’m tired and I want to go back to being a normal girl. But then along comes “Prince Charming” asking for help, and, well, what’s a tired girl like me supposed to do?

Mini Review: I love books that involve fairy tales so when I saw this I had to try it. It is younger than the books I normally read but I still had a good time.
Jenny is a fun narrator and the characters she meets on this mission are really entertaining, particularly the frogs. Also Prince Lamb.

 

15942645

My Epic Fairy Tale Fail #2

Fairy tales do come true. Unfortunately.

Jenny the Adventurer is back, and this time she’s off to the Land of Tales: the crazy place that all fairy tales come from. If she can defeat an evil witch and complete three impossible tasks–all without getting eaten by blood-thirsty monsters–Jenny might finally get some answers about what happened to her parents.
This is one adventure Jenny can’t afford to fail.

Mini Review: The second book in the series, while still entertaining is a little more muddled in my opinion. I think it’s because the ending leads directly into the next book so book 2 & 3 are almost one longer story. Having said that the Land of Tales part is good. Plus Jenny gets to take her friends this time and they make for entertaining reading.

 

cover32010-medium

My Sort of Fairy Tale Ending

Happily ever after? Yeah, right.

Jenny’s search for her parents leads her to Fairyland, a rundown amusement park filled with creepily happy fairies and disgruntled leprechauns. Despite the fairies’ kindness, she knows they are keeping her parents from her. If only they would stop being so happy all the time-it’s starting to weird her out! With the help of a fairy-boy and some rebellious leprechauns, Jenny finds a way to rescue her parents, but at the expense of putting all magical worlds in danger. Now Jenny must decide how far she is willing to go to put her family back together.

Mini Review: As far as I know this is the last in the series, there is room for future adventures but My Sort of Fairy Tale Ending brings Jenny’s adventures to a nice close. Finally she has found her parents but in order to rescue them she needs to make a deal with the Fairy Queen.

Everything I’ve enjoyed about this series is still there, Jenny’s commentary, varied and interesting characters. Not to mention Anna Staniszewski  re-imaginings for Fairyland.

I’ve enjoyed this series and plan to read more books by the author.

Recommend the series?

Yes

One thought on “My Very UnFairy Tale Life Books 1 – 3 by Anna Staniszewski

Leave a Reply

