Witch Finder (Witch Finder #1) by Ruth Warburton

389366_633452759998998_665887565_nHow did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Historical Fiction / Paranormal

Previously reviewed:
A Witch in Winter
A Witch in Love
A Witch Alone

Synopsis: London. 1880. In the slums of Spitalfields apprentice blacksmith Luke is facing initiation into the Malleus Maleficorum, the fearsome brotherhood dedicated to hunting and killing witches.
Luke’s final test is to pick a name at random from the Book of Witches, a name he must track down and kill within a month, or face death himself. Luke knows that tonight will change his life forever. But when he picks out sixteen-year-old Rosa Greenwood, Luke has no idea that his task will be harder than he could ever imagine.

200 words (or less) review: Witch Finder didn’t quite turn out the way I expected. Having read Ruth Warburton’s previous trilogy and been blown away by it I had incredibly high expectations. Maybe a little too high.

I didn’t love this book from the beginning and that worried me. The problem for me was/is Luke. As a main character I didn’t take to him. Consequently it was Rosa who had to carry the story.

For the first half it was Rosa that kept me reading, once new characters arrived (such as Cassie who I adore) and the book progressed, the story picked up.

There is high drama at the end which had me turning the pages frantically and yes I want to read the next in the series. I think Witch Finder suffers a bit at being the first book in a trilogy and spending time setting things up.

I still love Ruth Warburton’s writing and Rosa really burrowed herself into my heart so I shall look forward to seeing how this turns out.

Recommend it?

Yes*

*3.5Stars

2 thoughts on “Witch Finder (Witch Finder #1) by Ruth Warburton

  1. Hmm. Not loving a book from the beginning always makes it hard to truly love it later on. Although, Rosa sounds like a likeable MC. I think first books in series always suffer a little bit in the way of explaining the background information necessary to set the scene for the following novels.
    Would you suggest reading the previous trilogy before this book? Or are they not related in any way?

  2. That’s a shame – maybe like you say it was first book in trilogy problem. Then again it’s always when expectations are high that a book feels like it disappoints more!

    Fab review 🙂

Leave a Reply

