Boys Don’t Knit by T.S. Easton

event (15)How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Ben Fletcher must get to grips with his more ‘feminine’ side following an unfortunate incident with a lollipop lady and a stolen bottle of Martini Rosso from Waitrose. All a big misunderstanding of course. To avoid the Young Offenders unit, Ben is ordered to give something back to the community and develop his sense of social alignment. Take up a hobby and keep on the straight and narrow. The hot teacher he likes runs a knitting group so Ben, reluctantly at first, gets ‘stuck in’. Not easy when your dad is a sports fan and thinks Jeremy Clarkson is God. To his surprise, Ben finds that he likes knitting and that he has a mean competitive streak. If he can just keep it all a secret from his mates…and notice that the girl of his dreams, girl-next-door Megan Hooper has a bit of a thing for him…Laugh-out-loud, often ridiculous, sometimes quite touching, and revelatory about the knitting world, Boys Don’t Knit is a must for boys and girls…

200words (or less) review: Allow yourself a few hours for reading Boys Don’t Knit because most likely you’ll end up like me, starting and unable to finish until the last page. From the very first page T. S. Easton  had me hooked.

I loved Ben’s voice, the story is narrated as a diary and from the moment Ben tells us about his sister eating tadpoles I knew Boys Don’t Knit would be my kind of book. Due to the “unfortunate incident” Ben ends up in a knitting class, it’s a long story but instead of the hot teacher he expected the instructor is the mother of a girl Ben likes from school.

Between trying to hide his knitting projects from his dad, the girl and his friends Ben also begins his community service, with the lollipop lady he accidentally knocked over. While the initial meeting had me in laughing until my sides hurt I liked the changing relationship between them.

Boys Don’t Knit is hilarious. You will laugh A LOT. This is a book that will appeal to anyone with a sense of humour and a love for good writing.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Boys Don’t Knit is out now

4 thoughts on “Boys Don’t Knit by T.S. Easton

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed Boys Don’t Knit as I have a copy on my TBR pile and really need to get round to it soon. I do love a funny book so I’m sure I’ll really enjoy this, great review!

Leave a Reply

