Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

882043How did I get the book? I bought it.

Genre: Chick-lit

Synopsis: Emma is like every girl in the world. She has a few little secrets.

Secrets from her mother:
1. I lost my virginity in the spare bedroom to Danny Nussbaum while Mum and Dad were downstairs watching Ben Hur.

…From her boyfriend:
2. I’m a size twelve. Not a size eight, like Connor thinks.
3. I’ve always thought Connor looks a bit like Ken. As in Barbie and Ken.

…From her colleagues:
4. When Artemis really annoys me, I feed her plant orange juice. (Which is pretty much every day)
5. It was me who jammed the copier that time. In fact, all the times.

…Secrets she wouldn’t share with anyone in the world:
6. My G string is hurting me.
7. I faked my Maths GCSE grade on my CV.
8. I have no idea what NATO stands for. Or even what it is…

…until she spills them all to a stranger on a plane. At least, she thought he was a stranger…

200words (or less) review: I read Can You Keep A Secret years ago at the insistence of one of my friend’s. While a little hesitant I did end up relenting and loved it. Since then I’ve read this book a couple of times but when I moved I misplaced my copy, so when I saw the book in a charity shop I had to get it. Promptly reading it as soon as I got home.

Emma is such a fun protagonist to read. From the first chapters you struggle not to giggle and then the plane journey – I know what’s coming but I still laugh. I’ve read a few Sophie Kinsella books since but this is still my favourite.

Don’t get me wrong, Can You Keep A Secret is ridiculous. Emma is over-the-top, as are her friends, family, etc. and basically the whole book is just too out there but I still enjoyed it. It so funny, cheesy and cute. If that’s what you’re looking for in your next book go for it. Maybe don’t read this in public though as it’s hard not to laugh aloud.

Recommend it? 

Absolutely

One thought on “Can You Keep a Secret? by Sophie Kinsella

  1. Ooo I read this a few years ago and it still makes me smile. The Plane journey was just hilarious, I’m giggling thinking about it. I still love Becky and Luke most of all but Sophie’s other books like this one are really good too!

Leave a Reply

