Blackberry Blue: And Other Fairy Tales by Jamila Gavin

5How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Fairy Tales

Synopsis: Prepare to enter a world of magicians, enchanted forests, talking animals and wicked witches . . .

Here are six magical stories to thrill and enchant you. Watch Blackberry Blue rise from the bramble patch; follow Emeka the pathfinder on his mission to save a lost king; join Princess Desire as she gallops across the Milky Way on her jet-black horse.
These beautifully written and original stories will delight readers of all ages, and the stunning illustrations by Richard Collingridge will take your breath away.

200words (or less) review: This collection of new fairy tales is truly magical. It’s everything I love about books. Beautifully written, imaginative, vivid world-building and wonderful characters.

There a six tales in this collection, the first is Blackberry Blue which is my favourite. There weren’t any that I didn’t like but The Purple Lady and Emeka the Pathfinder came in a pretty close second. Blackberry Blue has everything I loved about Grimm & Anderson collections but with more interesting characters.

Each story is accompanied with stunning illustrations from Richard Collingridge, they are really beautiful and I spend ages pouring over them.  Would I have liked Jamila Gavin’s stories less without them? No but that the images were actually what I imagined myself so made this book even more special.

Blackberry Blue is one of my favourite books of 2013 and if you’re still looking for a Christmas present full of magic and joy, this is the one.

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “Blackberry Blue: And Other Fairy Tales by Jamila Gavin

  1. I had a beautiful copy of this for my birthday, it was even signed because my my mum bought it from the Authors for the Philippines auction! I really can’t wait to read it, lovely review!

Leave a Reply

