The Art of Falling by Jenny Kaczorowski

cover39132-mediumHow did I get the book?  Netgalley, thank you @ Bloomsbury Publishing Plc

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: For seventeen-year-old Bria Hale, image is everything. She’s a militant vegan with purple hair, Doc Martens and a permanent scowl. Kissing captain of the football team Ben Harris? Definitely not part of that image.
Now with each secret kiss, she’s falling deeper for the boy every girl at Oceanside High is crushing on. Throw in a few forbidden bacon cheeseburgers and she’s facing one major identity crisis.
Ignoring Ben should be easy, but when a flashy display of artistic spirit lands her in close quarters after hours with the boy she’s too cool to like, she can’t keep pretending those kisses meant nothing. With her reputation and her heart on a collision course, Bria must either be true to herself or to the persona she’s spent all of high school creating.

200words (or less) review: The Art of Falling is one of the first titles that Bloomsbury Spark are releasing. Bloomsbury kindly sent me a list with all of them and while I easily could have picked more, I made myself choose one. The Art of Falling won because the blurb promised me a fun read with interesting characters and Jenny Kaczorowski delivered just that.

I’m always a little apprehensive about calling a book “nice” because it sounds like I couldn’t think of anything better to say but nice books are great. When I sat down to read The Art of Falling I wanted nice, the fact that Bria is so easy to adore was an added bonus.

Jenny Kaczorowski writing is easy to follow and before I knew it I was halfway through the book. The characters and story are convincing, my favourite was Abby (Bria’s best friend) and I liked Ben. He’s wasn’t over the top wonderful, which normally results in putting me rolling my eyes and not buying the relationship. I wanted Bria and him to end up together.

If all of Bloomsbury Spark’s books are like The Art of Falling they have a winning formula.  

Recommend it?

Yes

Published 19 Dec 2013 by Bloomsbury Spark

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “The Art of Falling by Jenny Kaczorowski

Leave a Reply

