The Isobel Journal by Isobel Harrop

18518711How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Non-Fiction / Art

Synopsis: THE ISOBEL JOURNAL is no ordinary snapshot of a contemporary teenage life. A charming and vivid narrative scrapbook of the eighteen-year-old author’s sketches, mini-graphic novels, photographs and captions, it captures her wit, her observations and her creative talent as she takes us through the three central themes in her life: ‘Love’, ‘Friends, Art and Otters’ and ‘Me’.

Resonant of Laura Dockrill’s MISTAKES IN THE BACKGROUND and with the powerful naïve illustrative style of cult Japanese artist Yoshitomo Nara, this is a collector’s gift for teenagers and all who have the teenage experience still in their hearts. Readers will emphasise with this witty and honest journal of a girl getting to grips with impending adulthood. A must-have for all hipster teenagers and anyone who appreciates the raw creativity of youth. Enchanting and poignant.

200words (or less) review: I’m kinda stuck on what to say in my review as the blurb already describes The Isobel Journal so perfectly: charming, vivid, creative, witty, honest, enchanting and poignant. What could I add to that?

Let me try at least;

I’ll start by saying that The Isobel Journey is a beautiful book, both outside and in. It’s the type of book you want to display so people ask you about it and then are impressed by your coolness for having it. It’s so entertaining to read and I keep finding myself going back checking through a few pages, putting it down and coming back again.

Actually if it wasn’t absolute sacrilege I’d be so tempted to dismantle the book so I could hang a bunch of these up (I won’t I promise!)

The Isobel Journey will find a happy home with anyone who appreciates the genius of being quirky.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Leave a Reply

