These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

chrissi&lunacompare1Big thanks to Disney Book Group for letting Chrissi & me have an ARC to review.

b2 (12)

It’s a night like any other on board the Icarus. Then, catastrophe strikes: the massive luxury spaceliner is yanked out of hyperspace and plummets into the nearest planet. Lilac LaRoux and Tarver Merendsen survive. And they seem to be alone.

Lilac is the daughter of the richest man in the universe. Tarver comes from nothing, a young war hero who learned long ago that girls like Lilac are more trouble than they’re worth. But with only each other to rely on, Lilac and Tarver must work together, making a tortuous journey across the eerie, deserted terrain to seek help.

Then, against all odds, Lilac and Tarver find a strange blessing in the tragedy that has thrown them into each other’s arms. Without the hope of a future together in their own world, they begin to wonder—would they be better off staying here forever?

Everything changes when they uncover the truth behind the chilling whispers that haunt their every step. Lilac and Tarver may find a way off this planet. But they won’t be the same people who landed on it.

Thoughts before you started reading These Broken Stars?
CHRISSI: I requested it on NetGalley, not really knowing a lot about it. Before I knew it everyone was talking about it. Luna and I decided to read it as one of our compare books. She got to it before I did and I noticed her rating it five stars. I was really, really anxious to read it then. We often share the same feelings about books, but I was worried that this time, we wouldn’t be on the same page.

LUNA: I wasn’t convinced. I nearly didn’t request it but out of habit I looked it up on Goodreads and saw how many bloggers I follow praised it so I thought it was worth a go. But I was worried it would be like a lot of the ‘hype’ books I’ve read this year, which are ok but I didn’t love.

What did you think of Tarver & Lilac as characters?
CHRISSI: I really liked them. I wasn’t sure of Lilac at the beginning. I thought she had the potential to be an annoying character. However Tarver and Lilac are amazing characters, who I really felt for.

LUNA: In a word; wonderful. I liked them from the beginning, which is just as well because I was half tempted to read something else from my TBR pile but after the Icarus crashes and they are alone Lilac and Tarver really come into their own.

Best bit?
CHRISSI: This question is so hard to answer with this book, because there were so many awesome moments. I liked Tarver and Lilac’s relationship with one another. I particularly liked when they began to like each other, I just wanted them to be together, even though I’m not a fan of Insta-love.

LUNA: Spoiler free: Well there was this bit, and then that happened. Oh and then, also, not to mention and omg when… Ok that’s mean. I’m kind of hard-pressed to think of one best bit. There was so much about These Broken Stars I loved.
One thing that does make this story stand out is Tarver and Lilac’s relationship. Not only did I completely buy into it (so much so I spent a good part of my reading time thinking “why aren’t you kissing yet” which fyi – never happens) but the dynamics worked. The only reason they are alive is because they are working together. Neither would make it on their own and finally here is a female protagonist who doesn’t cower and need a hunky hero to tell her what to do. They argue, both are stubborn but they also both learn to value the skills the other has. It’s a true partnership.

Worst bit?
CHRISSI: This is a really nit-picky thing as I really adored the whole book. The first chapter didn’t grip me. I love to be gripped straight away, and after the first chapter, I did suddenly have a moment of dread. I thought I was going to hate a book that Luna loved. I’m happy to say though, as soon as that first chapter was over, I began my love story with this wonderful book.

LUNA: This is not a ‘worst’ in I didn’t like but a ‘worst’ in it send me into an emotional tailspin. In the second half of the book something happens that just made me go. NO! What? You can’t do that to me. *wimpers* Didn’t expect it. When books take me by surprise they get bonus points.

Favourite character / moment?
CHRISSI: I have many favourite moments, so I’m not going to begin to try and explain all of them. Just read the book, okay? 😉 ) My favourite character was Lilac. She’s isn’t a pathetic female character that needs her man to save her. Her skills were just as important to Tarver as Tarver’s were to Lilac.

LUNA: There are many, most have to do with Lilac and Tarver’s relationship and character growth. I will admit I have a little bit of a book crush on Tarver.

Was These Broken Stars what you expected?
CHRISSI: It was a lot better than I was expecting. I know since I’ve started book blogging that my expectations of books have gone up. These Broken Stars exceeded my expectations. READ IT!!!

LUNA: No it was better. I did expect the writing and adventure part to be good but Tarver and Lilac’s relationship was so amazing.

Would you recommend it?
CHRISSI: No, of course not. Pah, who am I kidding? I’m totally fangirling about this book. READ IT!!!

LUNA:

= that means; hell yeah

 

Expected publication:
Dec 10th 2013 by Disney Hyperion

Follow on Bloglovin

One thought on “These Broken Stars by Amie Kaufman & Meagan Spooner

  1. So much agreement here! I adored Lilac and Tarver and their relationship. Ana Luna, I’m SO with you on the thing that happened and then something else and OMFG. O_O “Emotional tailspin” is the perfect way to describe it!

    I have to say, I wasn’t all that gripped by the first chapter either. I think what kept he reading, in the beginning, was those little interview/interrogation snippets at the beginning of each chapter. So much suspense!

Leave a Reply

