Stardust by Neil Gaiman

stardustHow did I get the book?  StorytellerInc Book Club – Book 16

Genre: Fantasy

Previously reviewed:
Fortunately, the Milk… by Neil Gaiman

Synopsis: Stardust is an utterly charming fairy tale in the tradition of The Princess Bride and The Neverending Story. Neil Gaiman, creator of the darkly elegant Sandman comics and author of The Day I Swapped My Dad for Two Goldfish, tells the story of young Tristran Thorn and his adventures in the land of Faerie. One fateful night, Tristran promises his beloved that he will retrieve a fallen star for her from beyond the Wall that stands between their rural English town (called, appropriately, Wall) and the Faerie realm. No one ever ventures beyond the Wall except to attend an enchanted flea market that is held every nine years (and during which, unbeknownst to him, Tristran was conceived). But Tristran bravely sets out to fetch the fallen star and thus win the hand of his love.

200words (or less) review: I read Stardust years ago but I think since then the movie (which I do like) has muddled itself with the actual book. When I read Stardust this time round it was like reading it for the first time.

Neil Gaiman has written a wonderful fairy-tale, the kind of book that makes me smile. If I had to pick a fault then I guess it’s that I felt like an observer while reading. The prominent characters are interesting and I liked Tristran, Yvainee, etc. but I didn’t love them. Surprisingly it’s Victoria that really endeared herself at the end of the story.

There are so many moments in this book that I adored. Stardust combines what you love about fairy-tales with some fascinating twists. Not to mention the fact that Neil Gaiman’s imaginative world building and writing has its own class of rating.

If you haven’t read Stardust then do, trust me you won’t be disappointed.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s