Dead Man’s Cove (Laura Marlin Mysteries #1) by Lauren St. John

b (5)How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Adventure

Synopsis: When orphaned Laura Marlin moves from a children’s home to live with her uncle in Cornwall, she longs for a life of excitement just like the characters in her favourite detective novels.
A real life adventure is on hand as she is deposited at her uncle’s spooky house . . . Why does her uncle, Calvin Redfern, forbid her to go to Dead Man’s Cove? What’s the truth about Tariq, the silent Indian boy who lives with the flamboyant Mukthars? Who is J? Who has left the message in a bottle for Laura to discover? Mysteries abound and who better to solve them than Laura Marlin, ace detective?
Accompanied by her trusty companion, Skye, a three-legged husky, the dog she’s always wanted, Laura’s adventures begin.

200words (or less) review: The Famous Five is the reason I started reading and while they aren’t perfect I have a fond memories of those books. Dead Man’s Cove invokes similar feelings, only better because Laura is such an awesome protagonist.

Lauren St John has a great writing voice, the story is easy to get lost in and the descriptions are brilliant. I really felt I was walking alongside Laura. The pacing works, there are some tense moments (particularly at the end) but one of the things I enjoyed the most was Laura’s initial exploration of her new home.

The relationship between Laura and her uncle is believable. For a change there is an adult that actually makes a good impression, yes he’s not perfect but I wanted to get to know him as opposed to just following Laura’s story. I absolutely adore Skye and if I could I would have crawled into the book to hug him.

Dead Man’s Cove is the first in the series and I bought the next two books the day after I finished this one, that’s how much I enjoyed it.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

3 thoughts on “Dead Man’s Cove (Laura Marlin Mysteries #1) by Lauren St. John

Leave a Reply

