Notable by Marni Bates

cover35747-mediumHow did I get the book?  Netgalley, thank you @ Kensington Books

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed:
Awkward #1
Invisible #2

Synopsis: I take no prisoners…
I’m Chelsea Halloway and I will happily destroy your social life if you mess with me. Just ask anyone. There is no situation I can’t handle. Divorcing parents? No problem. An ex-boyfriend who wants to date Smith High School’s biggest geek instead of me? Just a matter of time before I can make him see reason. At least, until my parents decide to ship me off on a study abroad trip to Cambodia…
Now instead of being admired as the queen of the Notables, I’m stuck with a bunch of college students who don’t take me seriously, and a professor who accidentally landed himself on the wrong side of a drug lord. And it’s up to me to get us all out of the country alive–even the annoying jerk with the green eyes who won’t stop calling me “princess.”
Oh yeah, what could possibly go wrong?

200words (or less) review: I seriously love Marni Bates writing, you start to read her books and its next to impossible to put them down. Can’t wait to see what comes next.

In Notable it’s Chelsea’s turn to tell her story. Offhand it’s easy to put Chelsea into the spoilt rich girl category but even in the first book Marni Bates hinted there was more to her then the superficial image. While reading the previous books would help with the context I don’t think it’s essential.

Chelsea’s parent’s solution to their divorce announcement and her behaviour at school is to send Chelsea on a study program to Cambodia. It is as ridiculous as it sounds. I think there is a lot of character development for Chelsea from the beginning of the book and I loved the new friends she makes.

Notable is over-the-top fun and adventure. Read it as such and you’ll have a great time.

Recommend it?

Yes

Expected publication: October 29th 2013

One thought on “Notable by Marni Bates

  1. I’ve been meaning to read a Marni Bates book for a while. I adore the cover of this one, so colourful! This sounds like a good light read when you don’t want to get in too deep! Will keep an eye out 🙂

Leave a Reply

