Popping the Cherry by Aurelia B. Rowl

cover35361-mediumHow did I get the book?  Netgalley, thank you @ Harlequin (UK) Limited

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: You only get one first time…
From driving tests to relationships, Valentina Bell thinks she’s a failure, with a big fat capital F. At this rate, she’s certain she’ll be a virgin for ever. So Lena’s friends plan Operation: Popping the Cherry to help her find the perfect man first time.
Yet somehow disastrous dates with bad-boy musicians and fabulous evenings with secretly in-the-closet guys aren’t quite working out how Lena planned.
Soon Lena’s avoiding Operation: Popping the Cherry to spend time with comforting, aloof Jake, her best friend’s older brother, who doesn’t make her feel self-conscious about still clinging to her V card. But could Jake show Lena that sometimes what you’re looking for most is right by your side?

200words (or less) review: Popping the Cherry was going to be my holiday read but I actually read it before I went away. It was only going to be the first few chapters and before I knew it I was halfway through the book.

I really liked Lena and after the Richard Winsor reference it just got even better. Finally a girl who with excellent taste!

My first impression of Popping the Cherry, fun and cute, is accurate – however there is so much more to this story. What happens to Lena on her first date effects the rest of the story.  Jake is the nice guy but if it wasn’t for the initial rescue I don’t think I would have been nearly as invested in Lena and his relationship. Not only does Lena fall for him, I think I did a little too.

The ending of Popping the Cherry was a bit sweet but then again by that time I wanted that ending and I imagine other readers will agree.

Popping the Cherry didn’t disappoint, it exceeded expectations – a lot!

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Leave a Reply

