Goodbye, Rebel Blue by Shelley Coriell

cover32775-mediumHow did I get the book?  Netgalley, thank you @ Amulet Books

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed:
Welcome, Caller, This is Chloe

Synopsis: Rebecca Blue is a rebel with an attitude whose life is changed by a chance encounter with a soon-to-be dead girl. Rebel (as she’s known) decides to complete the dead girl’s bucket list to prove that choice, not chance, controls her fate. In doing so, she unexpectedly opens her mind and heart to a world she once dismissed—a world of friendships, family, and faith. With a shaken sense of self, she must reevaluate her loner philosophy—particularly when she falls for Nate, the golden boy do-gooder who never looks out for himself. Perfect for fans of Jay Asher’s blockbuster hit Thirteen Reasons Why, Coriell’s second novel features her sharp, engaging voice along with realistic drama and unforgettable characters.

200words (or less) review: This was such an enjoyable read. Rebel (aka Rebecca) is an interesting character. She keeps everyone at a distance, so when she ends up alone in detention with Kennedy (who believes in fate) Rebel isn’t exactly friendly. The next day Kennedy is dead and Rebel is left with the bucket list Kennedy wrote.

Why Rebel decided to fulfil Kennedy’s bucket list is explained in the book, I don’t want to go into it as I think that particular chapter shows Rebel’s view on life so well. Armed with a bucket list of things that are about helping others Rebel begins.

Shelley Coriell has this wonderful way of balancing serious and humour. At times I couldn’t stop laughing. I loved the variety of characters in this story, as well as how so many of them grow. It’s not just Rebel but Pen, Macey and Nate. Rebel’s friendship with Macey was one of my favourite storylines overall.

Goodbye, Rebel Blue is a book that will have you laugh and reach for tissues at the same time. I thoroughly enjoyed myself from start to finish and think I’ll be moving Shelley Coriell onto my insta-buy list.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s