Cruel Summer by James Dawson

b2 (26)How did I get the book?  I bought it

Genre: Thriller / Mystery

Previously reviewed:  Hollow Pike

Synopsis: A year after Janey’s suicide, her friends reunite at a remote Spanish villa, desperate to put the past behind them. However, an unwelcome guest arrives claiming to have evidence that Jane was murdered. When she is found floating in the pool, it becomes clear one of them is a killer. Only one thing is for certain, surviving this holiday is going to be murder…

200words (or less) review: I spend ages looking at a blank page because I really didn’t know where to start with this review. There isn’t anything that I can say that hasn’t already been said. This book is brilliant – go read it now!

I’ll wait and then we can talk about it….
…ok so that won’t work.

Better do the ‘review’ part then:

Given Hollow Pike I had high expectations for Cruel Summer and then when I saw all these amazing reviews from blogger friends appearing I knew I needed to read it sooner rather than later.

I love the way the book is set out, Ryan’s Teen Reality Show narration is so perfect. It fits, Cruel Summer tells the story of the beautiful teens isolated in sunny Spain. Was Janey’s death really a suicide?

Everything about this story works; the setting, the characters, the twist and turns, the pacing, the writing, etc. Could I have tried to work the mystery out? Don’t know and don’t really care I was having too much fun reading it.

James Dawson welcome to my instant-buy list 🙂

Recommend it?

Sunshine Star

One thought on “Cruel Summer by James Dawson

  1. Pingback: Waiting on Wednesday #23 | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

