Invisible by Marni Bates

How did I get the book?  Borrowed

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed: Awkward

Synopsis: Jane Smith has survived three years of high school without making a single enemy, all by keeping a low profile. Not even her three best friends, Kenzie, Corey and Isobel, can say the same. But with Corey dating the lead singer from ReadySet and Kenzie in a relationship too, being invisible tends to be lonely. But now she’s written an article for her school newspaper that has accidentally snagged the attention of some celebrities. Turns out, people get really upset when their innermost secrets are splashed all over the front page. And new her well-ordered life is being blasted to hell, with results that are wildly unexpected.

200words (or less) review: Unlike Awkward (which I loved from the start) Jane’s story was more and up and down read for me. I’ll admit it; I resented Invisible for making me dislike characters I had loved in the previous book.

Jane feels neglected by her friends but she doesn’t do much about it. She also has a tendency to jump to conclusions and is rather judgmental. That said Jane has some pretty epic moments, the cafeteria for one and the last few chapters had me cheering. I kind of wish there had been more about the new friends Jane makes, particularly Sam.

One thing that I noticed in Invisible is a distinct lack of sensible grown-ups. Mainly the teachers and guidance councilor but also Jane’s parents had me shaking my head.

Don’t get me wrong Invisible is a fun read and I enjoyed it, I just can’t help comparing it to the previous book and this one fell a little short. That said I still read it in one sitting and can’t wait to start the next in the series.

Recommend it?

Yes

Leave a Reply

