Awkward by Marni Bates

b2 (11)How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: Mackenzie Wellesley has spent her life avoiding the spotlight. At Smith High, she’s the awkward junior people only notice when they need help with homework. Until she sends a burly football player flying with her massive backpack and makes a disastrous – not to mention unwelcome – attempt at CPR. Before the day is out, the whole fiasco explodes on YouTube. And then the strangest thing happens. Suddenly, Mackenzie is an Internet sensation, with four million hits and counting. Sucked into a whirlwind of rock stars, paparazzi, and free designer clothes, she even catches the eye of the most popular guy at school. And that’s when life gets really interesting…

200words (or less) review: Awkward is over the top and pretty ridiculous in parts but it works! Partly due to the writing but also because Kenzie is such a likable protagonist, there were moments were my sides were hurting I was laughing so much.

Kenzie is awkward but as someone who’s walked into a lamppost (yep I really did) she’s very relatable. I guess the story is a little farfetched and maybe too neat but I really don’t care because I was having such a good time reading it. I loved Corey’s sub-plot and Dylan isn’t such a bad little brother.

Surprisingly I even liked Logan, he was nice at the start but it was the party aftermath that really  convinced me. Not only is the conversation between him and Mackenzie one of my favourite scenes in the whole book but it made me revise my ‘Notable’ stereotype – I was just as judgmental as Mackenzie.
Growth all round = win for Marni Bates.

I really enjoyed Awkward and would recommend it to anyone who needs cheering up. It’s so funny!

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Leave a Reply

