Model Misfit (Geek Girl #2) by Holly Smale

How did I get the book?  From Netgalley, thank you @ HarperCollins UK

Genre: Contemporary

Previously reviewed: Geek Girl

Synopsis: “My name is Harriet Manners, and I am still a geek.”
Harriet knows that modelling won’t transform you. She knows that being as uniquely odd as a polar bear isn’t necessarily a bad thing (even in a rainforest). And that the average person eats a ton of food a year, though her pregnant stepmother is doing her best to beat this.
What Harriet doesn’t know is where she’s going to fit in once the new baby arrives.
With summer plans ruined, modelling in Japan seems the perfect chance to get as far away from home as possible. But nothing can prepare Harriet for the craziness of Tokyo, her competitive model flatmates and her errant grandmother’s ‘chaperoning’. Or seeing gorgeous Nick everywhere she goes.
Because, this time, Harriet knows what a broken heart feels like.
Can geek girl find her place on the other side of the world or is Harriet lost for good?

200words (or less) review: I read Model Misfit the day I received it – originally I only planned to read the first chapter but once I started I couldn’t stop. It’s the first book I’ve stayed up late for in months!

Harriet remains one of my all-time favourite protagonists. I adore this girl, she is sweet and just as klutzy as before. Holly Smale is one of the few authors that succeeds in making me laugh, not just a little chuckle but properly laughing. I felt a little guilty about that because I simultaneously wanted to hug Harriet when things were going wrong.

I missed Harriet’s dad a little (though he certainly makes an impression in the moments he does appear) but the introduction of Harriet’s grandmother Bunty made up for that, as well as Wilbur who moved up in my estimation so much.

Japan has been on my travel wishlist for years, so Harriet’s adventure was even more perfect. Plus Rin is so kawaii (I had to – sorry), felt a bit sorry for Kylie though.

Model Misfit is the perfect sequel, a book that builds on everything without destroying what you loved the first time round.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Expected publication: 26th Sep 2013 by HarperCollins

Leave a Reply

