Boy Meets Boy by David Levithan

How did I get the book? Netgalley, thank you HarperCollins UK and I bought my own copy.

Genre: Contemporary

Synopsis: To be together with someone for twenty years seems like an eternity. I can’t seem to manage twenty days…
How do you stay together?
Paul has been gay his whole life and he’s confident about almost everything. He doesn’t have to hide his feelings like best friend Tony or even cope with loving the wrong guy like his other best friend Joni.
But heartbreak can happen to anyone. Falling in love changes everything.

Considered groundbreaking upon its publication in 2003, Boy Meets Boy is now 10 years old and David Levithan’s debut about two teenage boys finding love is still in print and still as heartwarming. The world was different when Boy Meets Boy first appeared and attitudes have changed, but this novel is just as relevant and enjoyable as it was then.

200words (or less) review: This is the first book I’ve read byDavid Levithan but I’m pretty sure that the one I should have started with. Boy Meets Boy is a book I’ve known off for years but for some reason never picked up. What a fool I was…
I’ll admit though, it did take me a couple of chapters.

At the beginning of the story I wasn’t quite sure what to make of it. Paul is a nice enough character who is happy in his own skin, something which is a rare find regardless of which genre, his friends are a lot more complex. When Infinite Darlene first appeared I did think “ohoh, you’re going to be a caricature” but actually no, Infinite Darlene is so real. I was expecting her to shake hands with me (which would have been awesome!). Once I was in love with Infinite Darlene & Tony everyone else followed, like the domino effect.

Boy Meets Boy is a love story; it’s believable, cute and funny with those little swoony-moments that make give you a big grin (flowers anyone?). I would have really enjoyed this book just for that but what makes so special is the characters.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Leave a Reply

