The Skull in the Wood by Sandra Greaves

How did I get the book? Received from publisher in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Horror

Synopsis: Deep on Dartmoor, cousins Matt and Tilda discover a skull. And from that moment black things happen. Birds and animals turn bad, and there’s talk of the return of an old curse.

200words (or less) review: The Skull in the Wood reads like a classic horror film, which in this case compliments the book perfectly. The writing is atmospheric and from the very first chapter you can picture everything clearly, the farm, the wood and Gabe.

The book is narrated between Matt and Tilda with an occasional interlude from Kitty, Tilda’s little sister. I liked the split narration. I think if it had been just Tilda’s POV I would have really struggled. With the exception of Kitty I didn’t particularly like any of the character and at points Tilda’s and Matt’s anger began to really annoy me. Which actually means Sandra Greaves succeeded. I was invested in them, I adored Kitty (it’s really hard not to) and while they irritated me, Matt and Tilda’s behaviour made the story that much more convincing.

The Skull in the Wood is creepy and just the right length so you get to know the characters but don’t get bored. The last few chapters really pulled me in and I’ll be keeping an eye on Sandra Greaves in future.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Expected publication: September 5th 2013 by Chicken House
One thought on “The Skull in the Wood by Sandra Greaves

  1. Pingback: Ghosties and ghoulies and long-legged beasties by Sandra Greaves | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

