Far Far Away by Tom McNeal

How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Fantasy / Fairytales

Synopsis: A tale of a boy,
a girl
and an ancient ghost.

Jeremy can hear voices. But when he admits this, the townspeople of Never Better treat him like an outsider. Life has been tough after his mother left and his father became a recluse, but one voice in particular proves his salvation: the voice of the ghost of Jacob Grimm. Jacob watches over Jeremy, protecting him from an unknown dark evil whispered about in the space between this world and the next. But when a provocative local girl Ginger takes an interest in Jeremy (and his unique abilities), a heartbreaking chain of events is put into motion. And as anyone familiar with the Grimm Brothers know, not all fairy tales have happy endings.

200words (or less) review: I first heard about Far Far Away at the RHCP Blogger Brunch and it just screamed “read me”. I knew I’d love it and I really did. The narration is beautiful and I can’t tell you how relieved I was that the German was correct (I have a little niggle with p. 301 but we’ll disregard that) even down to how to pronounce Jacob.

The story is about Jeremy Johnson Johnson, he doesn’t quite fit in and Ginger a beautiful and adventures girl who convinces Jeremy to play a prank on the baker. The prank goes wrong and the already alienated Jeremy is judged and ostracised by most of the town with a few notable exceptions.

Far Far Away reads like a traditional Grimm tale but despite the familiar format (unlikely hero, etc) it is not predictable. About halfway through I was thinking the story was heading in one direction when everything suddenly veered to a different path and all the little breadcrumbs (see what I did there ;)) I’d been reading about earlier became important.

There is much to love about Far Far Away but I don’t want to spoil the magic by giving it away.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

2 thoughts on “Far Far Away by Tom McNeal

Leave a Reply

