Spooks: I Am Grimalkin by Joseph Delaney

How did I get the book? Received from the publisher, in an exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Fantasy

Previously reviewed:
The Spook’s Apprentice Book #1
The Spook’s Curse Book #2
The Spook’s Secret Book #3
The Spook’s Battle Book #4
The Spook’s Mistake Book #5
The Spook’s Sacrifice Book #6
The Spook’s Nightmare Book #7
The Spook’s Destiny Book #8

Synopsis: I’m coming for you, and nothing living or dead can stop me.
One witch is the most feared, the most ruthless, and the most deadly of all the witches in the county. If she hunts for you, she will find you. If you have crossed her, you don’t stand a chance. She is the witch assassin, and her name is Grimalkin.
Grimalkin’s one alliance is with Tom Ward, the Spook’s apprentice. With Tom, she plans to rid the world of the most terrifying evil, the Fiend, who once did her great wrong.
For the first time, fans of the Last Apprentice series will hear the story from Grimalkin’s side, as she is hunted herself by creatures of darkness set on revenge.
Grimalkin has never been defeated. But can she survive an enemy created for the sole purpose of destroying her?

200words (or less) review: I was a little in two minds before I started this book. I Am Grimalkin fits within the Wardstone Chronicles but it sounded like a “filler” book but on the other hand it’s a whole book about Grimalkin who is one of the best characters in this series.

You don’t learn a lot of knew things in this book, while much happens to Grimalkin the overall story isn’t much further along at the end of this book then it was at the beginning. Also nearly everything Grimalkin reveals you already know, granted not in as much detail but still I felt somewhat short-changed as the reader.

I absolutely adored Chapter 24, it was Grimalkin; the voice, the feelings and it restored my faith in her character (which had taking a little beating at the halfway point of this story). Personally I think I Am Grimalkin would have worked better as a novella. The book dragged at times and I think a shortened version would have added a little something to Wardstone Chronicles for fans, whereas the full length book feels too much like a filler book to me.

Recommend it?

Not sure.

2 thoughts on “Spooks: I Am Grimalkin by Joseph Delaney

  1. Pingback: The Spook’s Blood by Joseph Delaney | Luna’s Little Library

  2. Pingback: Spook’s: Slither’s Tale by Joseph Delaney | Luna’s Little Library

Leave a Reply

