The Society of Thirteen by Gareth P. Jones

How did I get the book?
Publisher, in exchange for an honest review.

Genre: Paranormal / Historical Fiction

Previously reviewed: Constable & Toop

Synopsis: London, 1891. When orphans Esther and Tom are caught stealing by Lord Blackwood, little do they realise the peril they are in. Rather than hand them over to the police, the lord employs the children. But what does he really want with them?
Blackwood is a man obsessed. He has devoted his life to unearthing the roots of magic. Tormented by the thought of death he knows that only real magic can overcome mortality. He has in his possession a book that contains the secret of true magic, but he cannot unlock its meaning alone. Only Tom and Esther can help him unravel its terrible and dangerous secrets…
London, 2013, and a young girl called Amy is about to turn thirteen. She is never happier than in a graveyard where, one day, she notices a gravestone named only ‘Esther’ with a magpie perched above it who speaks to her. He is called Tom!
A spine-chilling tale of magic and illusion, and an induction into the world of sorcery both fair and shady – so beware!

200words (or less) review: This is the second book I’ve read by Gareth P. Jones and everything that I loved about the first is still there. It amazes me how he can write a story told from so many character perspectives and, as a reader, you don’t struggle to follow.

The writing is beautiful and really brings everything to life and the characters, oh my – how varied and fascinating, my particular favourite was Mr Hayman. Also Mondriat and Olwyn need a mention, especially Olwyn – clever. The ending to this book is so brilliant.

There are a lot of main characters in The Society of Thirteen and I think maybe there are a few too many. Don’t get me wrong, they are really interesting and I’d probably be hard pressed to choose who shouldn’t be in this book but I didn’t care as much about Esther and Tom as I wanted and I’m wondering if that’s because I too distracted by everyone else.

High enjoyable, mysterious and wonderful, The Society of Thirteen is a book well worth reading but if you asked me I’d still tell you to read Constable & Toop first.

Recommend it?

Absolutely

Expected publication:
3rd October 2013 by Hot Key Books

2 thoughts on “The Society of Thirteen by Gareth P. Jones

Leave a Reply

