The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

How did I get the book?  I bought it.

Genre: Steampunk

Synopsis: When Katharine Tulman’s inheritance is called into question by the rumour that her eccentric uncle is squandering away the family fortune, she is sent to his estate to have him committed to an asylum. But instead of a lunatic, Katharine discovers a genius inventor with his own set of rules, who employs a village of nine hundred people rescued from the workhouses of London.
Katharine is now torn between protecting her own inheritance and preserving the peculiar community she grows to care for deeply. And her choices are made even more complicated by a handsome apprentice, a secretive student, and fears for her own sanity.
As the mysteries of the estate begin to unravel, it is clear that not only is her uncle’s world at stake, but also the state of England as Katharine knows it.

200words (or less) review: I spent a lot longer reading The Dark Unwinding than I do on the majority of my books. It just didn’t feel like something I had to read all at once but more like a story I could come back to when I needed a vivid and magical place to escape in.

While I absolutely adored Uncle Tully, who is just wonderful and so believable, I never grew as fond of Katharine as I hoped. Consequently I didn’t get as involved in her problems or her friendship with Lane as I should have. I wanted to read about the toys Uncle Tully builds and the secrets of the estate instead. I also adored Mary who was my favourite female character by far. In comparison to Katharine she just had so much personality.

The Dark Unwinding takes you to a special world, I could picture it all beautifully and just wanted to be there. Sharon Cameron takes her time in building the story so you get to know the characters pretty well and the further into the book the better everything (including Katharine) was.

Looking forward to seeing what happens in the sequel.

Recommend it?

Yes*

* 3.5Stars

One thought on “The Dark Unwinding by Sharon Cameron

  1. I kinda agree. I got attached to Uncle Tully, so much so that I think I overlooked that Katherine was kind of tough to like at times and undeveloped. I have the sequel to read and I can’t wait. I didn’t even know there was going to be one!

Leave a Reply

